Motifs: May/June 2017

We'd love to hear from you! Help us share your accomplishments with others. Submit your motif for a future issue of the Crescendo online magazine.

Carol Levin (IAC 57-62, IAC St 94) plays electric harp with the MoodSwings women's big band, and a variety of groups in Seattle. In May 2017 she joined the University of Washington's Partch Ensemble in performances of Harry Partch's opera, Oedipus, playing the Harmonic Canon.

James Smith (IAC/NMC 62) retired from his position as the music director of the Wisconsin Youth Symphony Orchestra after their May 21, 2017 concert. Smith has held the position for 32 years.

Christina Britton Conroy (IAA 67-70, IAC/NMC 66-67, 69) just released a new book on elder care, "I Want to Go to Lithuania or How to Have Fun with your Aging Parents." The book is a concise, entertaining guide helping caregivers bring joy and passion back into the lives of their aging loved ones, and is available on

Jay Frost (IAA 77-80) was elected to serve on the 10th Congressional District Democratic Committee in Virginia.

Gregory Shelnutt (IAC/NMC 78) is the incoming Chair and Professor of Art at University of Delaware.

Brad Deplanche (IAA 79-81) just completed a year of playing the Genie in Disney's Aladdin on the Disney Cruise Line and will return to the role this fall.

Erik Ochsner (IAC/NMC 83) has been appointed Principal Touring Conductor for La La Land - Live in Concert!

Amy Nesbitt (IAC/NMC 86, IAA 86-88) was named the Director of Performing Arts at the Scottsdale Center for the Performing Arts in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Sufjan Stevens (IAA 89-90) and Daniel Masse (IAC 82-84) were included on Paste Magazine’s 100 Best Indie Folk Album list.

Sabrina Schaeffer (IAC/NMC 89-90, 92-94) is the executive director of the Independent Women's Forum. Schaeffer recently appeared on NPR as a guest on Morning Edition with Steve Inskeep.

Jennifer Kuhn (IAC 91-94, IAA 95-97, IAC St 97) is the new Writer’s Assistant for the series Mozart in the Jungle.

Sarah Kabot (IAC 92, IAC St 98-99, IAC Fac 00-07) received the Mid-Career Artist Award from Cleveland Arts Prize.

Stefan Sanders (IAA 93-95) was named the new music director of the Fayetteville Symphony Orchestra.

Julia Mortyakova (IAA 99-00) and her piano duo partner, Valentin Bogdan, recently won second prize at the 2017 Ellis Duo Piano Competition, a national competition, and one of the most prestigious in the world for duo pianists.

Andrew Bruhn (IAC 99-00, 02-03) won the Illinois American Choral Directors Association Composition Contest. Bruhn receives a $1,000 cash prize and a premiere at the state's ACDA conference.

Scott Joiner (IAA 98-01, IAC St 01) composed the music for and starred in the 11-minute film, “The Tinder Opera.”

Chunyang Wang (IAA 00-03) was recently named principal bass of the Arizona Opera.

Carlton Ford (IAA 02-05, AS 02) is now Director of Advancement Services and Membership at the Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts.

Caroline Curatolo (IAC 03, IAA 03-06) was recently named General Manager of the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra.

Max Chernin (IAC 04) joined the cast of the Encores! presentation of The Golden Apple. The show ran May 10-14, 2017 at the New York City Center.

Adam Joseph Arango (IAA 04-05) was recently named Senior Manager of Major Gifts for the David Geffen Hall Campaign at Lincoln Center.

Dr. Jaie Woodard (IAC 02-04, IAA 04-06) completed her Ph.D. in biological physics at Harvard University on March 28, 2017.

Irene Hofsetter (IAA 06-08) is now the Partnership Coordinator at the Aga Khan Foundation.

Derek Hawkes (IAC 06, 09) was named second/assistant principal trombone with the Nashville Symphony Orchestra.

Ellie Pavlick (IAC 07) accepted a faculty position in computer science at Brown University.

Colton James Pometta (IAC 08, IAA 08-09) was accepted to Directors Lab West at Pasadena Playhouse.

Austin Joseph Reynolds (IAC 08, IAA 09-13) will join the Aspen Santa Fe Ballet in June of 2017.

Jon Kaplan (IAC 10) recently won the position of second trumpet with the Charlotte Symphony Orchestra.

Andrew Richardson (IAA 10-13) and McKenna Slone (IAA 11-13) were the two senior recipients of Carnegie Mellon University’s Adelyne Roth Levine Memorial Award for Acting.